An Evening at Chaiholics

Chaiholics is one of my favourite places in Cardiff to go for tea as I love popping in for a warming chai whilst exploring the charity shops in Roath. When I heard that they were opening an Indian bistro in the evenings I was so excited and this excitement only increased when I saw the menu. I finally managed to visit recently and I wasn’t disappointed.

Chai Cocktails Chaiholics Cardiff

I tried a range of their tea based cocktails at their first birthday celebration so this time I went for the Chaiholics Rum Special first as it was one I hadn’t tried. It is made with rum, ginger chai and peach and it is amazing! Now I’ve tried all of the cocktails over both my visits I can safely say it’s my favourite. It’s a perfect balance of sweetness and spiciness with the warmth of the rum suiting a chai based cocktail really well. Between our party we went on to sample the Chaijito, Mar-tea-ni, Rose Chaitini and Baileys Chai Swizzle on this visit. The work put into preparing the cocktails is equal to that of a cocktail bar with some teas being cold brewed over night to get the perfect flavour. I’d recommend having the Baileys Chai Swizzle after food which is what we did. There is also beer and cider available as well as the usual teas and chais that are available during the day.

Chai Cocktails Chaiholics Cardiff

I opted for the Mangalore Crab, Fish and Coriander Cakes to start and the Aromatic Lamb Shank with Roti as my main because they were the dishes that jumped out to me when I first saw the menu. I also got to try some of the Vegetable Jhalfrezi and Mumbai Chana Paneer Burger. Everything was delicious although I could have done with more coriander in my starter.

Food Chaiholics Cardiff

I was so excited for pudding as I have been looking forward to the Cardamom Chai Brûlée ever since I first saw the menu. It’s such a great use of chai! It’s creamy, sweet and flavoursome with the cardamom balancing out the sugar perfectly. I only wish it could have been bigger as we scraped out every last bit and still wanted more.

Cardamom Chai Tea Brûlée Chaiholics Cardiff

I’m so pleased to see Chaiholics evolving and I’m looking forward to seeing what comes next. I’m also very happy that I can now pop in for a delicious Indian meal with a twist, or for just a chai or cocktail of an evening in such a relaxed atmosphere.

Chaiholics Cardiff

Related posts:

An Afternoon of Tea at Chaiholics
Happy First Birthday to Chaiholics
Chaiholics at Home

This entry was posted in Cardiff Tea Rooms, Food and Tea, Tea in Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to An Evening at Chaiholics

  1. porcelina says:

    How have I never heard of this place?! I really must pay it a visit. Sounds amazing. X

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think the girls and I are going in a week for burgers and cocktails… can’t wait. Do you think it’s worth booking for a Friday evening? Was it busy when you went? X

    Like

  3. misspond says:

    OMG this place looks fantastic… Definitely going on my to do list for Cardiff 🙂

    Like

Any thoughts on this post? Leave your comment below...

