Georgian Black Tea from Nothing But Tea

Nothing But Tea were kind enough to send me some samples of their Georgian Black Teas when I showed an interest in them on Twitter. I’m always interested to try teas that are unusual or something I haven’t tried before. Although I have tried tea grown in a range of countries most teas I drink are Japanese, Chinese or Indian which is why Georgian tea intrigued me so much.

Natela’s Gold Standard

Nothing But Tea Georgian Black Tea

The dry leaves smelt fruity reminding me of plums. I found the tea nice and delicate tasting with a hint of plums as the smell suggested. I also got the taste of apricots coming through. It’s a deliciously fruity yet sweet tea and it’s delicate nature makes it refreshing. This tea is exclusive to Nothing But Tea as only 50kg is grown annually and they buy all of it!

Tamaz’s Tiny Tea Factory

Nothing But Tea Georgian Black Tea

The dry leaves smelt fruity like Natela’s Gold Standard but with a spicy kick that reminded me of cinnamon. When brewed I found that although the tea was delicate it had a fruity yet malty taste with a lovely richness to it.

Nagobilevi Village Tea

Nothing But Tea Georgian Black Tea

The dry leaves smelt rather spicy and stronger than the first two teas. It also tasted spicy but with a slight astringency to it. I knew it would be delicate after trying the other teas but it was more delicate than I expected from the smell of both the dry leaves and the brewed tea.

Georgian Caravan

Nothing But Tea Georgian Black Tea

The dry leaves smelt very pleasantly smoky. The tea is delicate yet smoky and sweet. The smokiness it just right which means the sweetness still comes through. It was my favourite of the four teas.

I brewed all four teas for 3 minutes at 95c. I found that all four teas had a delicate nature in common meaning they could only be steeped once and wouldn’t take milk or sugar well. I enjoyed all four teas and I’m definitely going to look into trying more Georgian tea.

Related Posts:

Flavoured Teas from Nothing But Tea

Image | This entry was posted in Tea Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Georgian Black Tea from Nothing But Tea

  1. shyboyscott says:

    I so wish I could “get” tea….and olives….then I can be a grown up…maybe

    Liked by 1 person

    • It took me time to “get” tea and olives but I love them both. I also “get” red wine now which makes me feel a little more grown up. I could never be grown up though… too boring! πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      • shyboyscott says:

        You’re just showing off now ha ha. I don’t think I’ll ever get into red wine. Olives…..possibly.

        Liked by 1 person

        • I’m proud of the red wine thing so I can’t help but show off! πŸ˜‰ I never ever thought it could be possible.

          Liked by 1 person

          • shyboyscott says:

            Got any tips for getting into tea? I used to drink Cardamom tea with so much sugar it was more like syrup.
            I’d ask about red wine, but I’m pretty sure that ship has sailed.

            Like

            • I don’t know anything about wine so good you don’t want to know about that. 😊

              My main tip would be to go somewhere that serves it correctly first of all before trying at home. Good quality loose leaf tea, good water (really!), correct temperature, brewed for the correct amount of time etc. Maybe if you don’t like black tea go for something else more delicate like an oolong. I hated tea until I tried Vanilla Black at Waterloo Gardens. Now I like most teas! I need to write a post about getting into tea.

              Liked by 1 person

              • shyboyscott says:

                I’ll let you know how I get on ha ha
                I wonder if there are any teas out there that would go with burgers…..

                Like

                • Tea goes with everything. Everything! I reckon a smoked tea… especially if it’s topped with cheese or bacon. Smoked tea goes so well with meat and cheese! Also, Got Beef have an alcoholic ice tea that goes well with their burgers! I even wrote about it! Good luck with the tea. Let me know if you want any recommendations etc. 😊

                  Liked by 1 person

  2. A lovely post Jaye. That teapot is stunning. Are the cups from John Lewis? I think I have a set of bowls that match. I do like black tea quite a lot and this review is really useful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. ☺️ I’ve got quite a few tea reviews coming up. I love the tea pot. I only use it for black teas. It’s quite heavy as it’s cast iron. The cups are from John Lewis. I thought I’d use them as they are a good shape for black tea and I had a different colour for each tea. I have the bowls too. I think pu’erh is my favourite tea but I do like a comforting black. These are interesting because they are rather mellow for black tea.

      Like

  3. porcelina says:

    Ooo they all sound so tempting! I only just finished that amazing tea I won in your giveaway, but now it’s gone I need another ‘special’ tea to have in work as a pick me up so will check out all of these x

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so pleased you enjoyed the oolong. These are really good for work as they can only be infused once. I’ve got a few more tea reviews coming up but I’d also recommend What-Cha for ‘special’ teas. Their yellow teas are delicious, especially as you liked the oolong.

      Like

  4. misspond says:

    Oooh I love your tea pot!!! The Georgian Caravan sounds amazing πŸ™‚

    Like

Any thoughts on this post? Leave your comment below...

