The Tea Co.

The Tea Co. is a UK based online company that sources teas directly from tea farms. This means that they are able to ensure the quality and traceability of their teas. They were kind enough to send me some samples of a range of their teas to try.

Ceylon

image

This is an Amba Estate Ceylon, Sri Lanka. I brewed the Ceylon at 95C for 3 minutes as directed on the packet. It has a sweet toffee like taste and is very smooth for a black tea. It’s a delicate tea, that would not take milk or sugar well, although I was able to get a second infusion. It was very delicate but still had a lovely sweetness to it. It is one of the best Ceylons I have ever tried and I would highly recommend it.

Big Red Robe Supreme (Da Hong Pao)

image

The Big Red Robe Supreme is from the Wuyi Mountains, China. It is harvested from bushes grown from clippings of the original bushes and is still grown in the same area. I brewed the Big Red Robe as the packet said with the water at around 96C. Red Robe is brewed hotter than many other oolongs but it’s my personal taste is to brew it at around 85C. It is possible to get 5 infusions from the tea after rinsing it. It has a light smoky flavour with a slightly spicy taste and it has a very sweet smell. It’s nice and refreshing but with a great depth of flavour. As the tea is reinfused the spicy flavour becomes stronger and sweeter before becoming delicate once again. I have tried a few different varieties of this oolong and this has to be the spiciest making it one of my favourites.

Sencha Midori No Kaori

image

This is a first flush Sencha from Wazuka, Kyoto, Japan. I brewed the Sencha at 65C for 2 minutes. It’s a nice and delicate first flush Sencha and the sweet and grassy smell is appealing even before taking a sip. It’s delicate and sweet but with the salty umami taste that is quintessential of Japanese green teas. It’s a very fresh, smooth and refreshing tea. I always rinse Japanese green teas but after that I was able to get 3 infusions. The second infusion was my favourite as it lost some of the sweetness but still had plenty of umami. The third infusion was very delicate but still had enough saltiness to make it enjoyable. This is a delicious first flush Sencha but Nishi First Flush Sencha is still my favourite.

This entry was posted in Tea at Home, Tea Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Tea Co.

  1. clairefayers says:

    Hello Jaye, For us tea newbies, could you tell us why you rinse the tea and how you do it – what temperature water do you use to rinse, do you leave it to infuse at all or do you just pour water straight through? Thanks!

    Like

    • Hiya Claire, of course. πŸ™‚ I rinse the tea to rehydrate it before infusing and it helps to get rid of traces of bitterness. It’s also a Chinese superstition. I use the same temperature water as I would to brew the tea (any hotter would burn the leaves). It depends on the tea. I suppose the rinse is a “semi infusion”. If it is a delicate tea I will leave it for no more than 10 seconds and then pour the water through the leaves. With a stronger tea I leave it for around 20 seconds. I hope this helps. I should do a post with some brewing tips soon! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. I know I should be concentrating on the tea but I just want your teapot!

    Liked by 1 person

Any thoughts on this post? Leave your comment below...

